Head Porters: Eye health question

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

user-9274568

Head Porters: Eye health question

Post by user-9274568 »

Guys, I've been wearing contacts since 14 years of age. I'm 42 now, and have never had a problem with them. I can go 45 days on a pair of Acuvue contacts. I slept in them, never took them out during that time.

Something has changed. I've been porting on stuff daily since October. I'm having eye issues now. They burn, water, itch, it's horrible. The doctor can't seem to find anything wrong. My eyes look good.

Brings me to my question. I wear eye protection while porting. However, would the fumes do this? Anyone experience anything like this?

Thanks Guys!!
airflowdevelop
Guru
Guru

Post by airflowdevelop »

I am going to ask a really dumb question... that will sound like it is not related..

how are your sinuses? Are you wearing a respirator or mask?
user-9274568

Post by user-9274568 »

Yes on both. I either wear a paint mask or a 3M.

However, I still get some "grud" if you know what I mean. But for the most part, it's good.

I spent some time in a body shop in my younger years, now I had issues with that! Mask and all.. I was always hacking something up..
ap72
Guru
Guru
Post by ap72 »

I also wear contacts and sometimes have eye problems after porting. Are you wearing safety glasses or sealed goggles? Goggles are a PITA, but they do keep more fo the gunk out of your eyes. You can also try doing most of your work under a plate of plexi-glass, it can also be a PITA though.
Greezer
Pro
Pro
Post by Greezer »

Have a Nice Day
Last edited by Greezer on Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Barbapapa
Expert
Expert

Post by Barbapapa »