We are currently running on the new domain and server: www.Speed-Talk.com

IMPORTANT: Update your bookmarks to https://www.speed-talk.com/forum/
(Right-click the URL and select "Bookmark this link")

Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

ProPower engines
Guru
Guru
Posts: 7825
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by ProPower engines » Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:55 am

Just wondered if there is a "factory cast iron" intake" that fits these heads?
Real Race Cars Don't Have Doors

job1bf
Member
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 10:39 am
Location: memphis,tn

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by job1bf » Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:59 am

I would imagine a BOSS 302 intake might be the only factory option, but they were aluminum dual plane manifolds...

fishman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: Qualicum Beach British Columbia Canada

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by fishman » Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:31 pm

Years ago i found a set of boss 302 heads and intake and decided on making a boss 302 well i couldn't find a block so i used a 289 block when i tried to bolt the heads on the holes in the block were smaller then the head bolts so i had to get a set of bolts with a 7/16 shank and 3/8 threads that were special ordered....i am not sure but i would think on the 351c heads you have the same problem...........
[IMG]http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f29/fishman1/S7300198-1.jpg[/IMG]

SupStk
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1588
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:25 pm
Location: Box Elder, SD

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by SupStk » Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:25 pm

fishman wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:31 pm
Years ago i found a set of boss 302 heads and intake and decided on making a boss 302 well i couldn't find a block so i used a 289 block when i tried to bolt the heads on the holes in the block were smaller then the head bolts so i had to get a set of bolts with a 7/16 shank and 3/8 threads that were special ordered....i am not sure but i would think on the 351c heads you have the same problem...........
Not quite correct. The Cleveland heads used 1/2" head bolts while 289-302 Windsors had 7/16. Edelbrock, AFR, ARP and possibly others offer stud and bolt kits with stepped washers which make that aspect of the swap a non-issue.
Monty Frerichs
B&M Machine

Steve.k
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:41 am
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by Steve.k » Tue Feb 04, 2020 8:12 am

ProPower engines wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:55 am
Just wondered if there is a "factory cast iron" intake" that fits these heads?
Tim meyer sells trackboss intake to exactly fit this setup. You will need new pistons and also tap and plug front water passage in head. The heads will increase where you make peak tq and hp but will likely net big gains over windsor style head. That said i have made easy 425 hp on 351 cubes at 5900 rpm. So not spinning very high. 302 wouldn’t be much higher.Most canted valve heads are not allowed in dirt tracks here so may wanna check rules in your area. https://www.tmeyerinc.com/product/track ... -manifold/

1972ho
Expert
Expert
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:52 am
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by 1972ho » Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:35 pm

If you want to know a little more on this set up go over to the 351cleveland.net on Facebook and check with some of those guys they have some circle track racer over there that can give you some advice.

Steve.k
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:41 am
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by Steve.k » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:39 pm

Yes H.o is correct some good recipes over there. Contrary to popular belief the 4v Cleveland head can and will make good power at lower rpm. And a hell of alot more at high rpm.

Joe-71
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 5:46 pm
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by Joe-71 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:54 pm

Why not use the N-352 iron Motorsports heads? They are the "go-to" heads for the roundy-round guys locally. Joe-71
Joe-JDC

fishman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: Qualicum Beach British Columbia Canada

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by fishman » Wed Feb 05, 2020 2:02 am

SupStk wrote:
Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:25 pm
fishman wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:31 pm
Years ago i found a set of boss 302 heads and intake and decided on making a boss 302 well i couldn't find a block so i used a 289 block when i tried to bolt the heads on the holes in the block were smaller then the head bolts so i had to get a set of bolts with a 7/16 shank and 3/8 threads that were special ordered....i am not sure but i would think on the 351c heads you have the same problem...........
Sorry yes you are right it is 1/2 head with 7/16 threads. I built that motor in the mid seventies so memory is a little off. I used boss 302 pistons , rods and crank also stock intake. A guy blew up his boss 302 and he sold me the carb,heads,intake and valve covers for $115 I jumped at it

Not quite correct. The Cleveland heads used 1/2" head bolts while 289-302 Windsors had 7/16. Edelbrock, AFR, ARP and possibly others offer stud and bolt kits with stepped washers which make that aspect of the swap a non-issue.
[IMG]http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f29/fishman1/S7300198-1.jpg[/IMG]

ProPower engines
Guru
Guru
Posts: 7825
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by ProPower engines » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:46 pm

Years ago there was an intake made from cast iron made by a company for this swap but they went out of the biz.
Not enough volume of sales killed the project. I have seen that intake and it was not a bad piece either for guys that had to run cast iron for a class rule deal.

There is other intakes that can be used as the 351/400 M head is a close relative to the cleveland head.
There are a few ford guys locally here that have done the swap on a 302 and 351w and made really big numbers with the iron heads. While the stock heads are a ton of work to fit an intake to they seemed content to go that route and made reliable power.
Real Race Cars Don't Have Doors

Steve.k
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 10:41 am
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by Steve.k » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:56 pm

The windsor heads return coolant through the intake and not the block like Cleveland. The 351m and 400 blocks are 10.29 deck so you would have to cut if even possible to fit 8.2 302.

Truckedup
Guru
Guru
Posts: 2281
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 2:41 pm
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by Truckedup » Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:50 am

When the C engine was available in 1970, there were 2bbl and 4bbl heads with different port sizes?
Motorcycle land speed racing... wearing animal hides and clinging to vibrating oily machines propelled by fire

ProPower engines
Guru
Guru
Posts: 7825
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by ProPower engines » Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:01 pm

Steve.k wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:56 pm
The windsor heads return coolant through the intake and not the block like Cleveland. The 351m and 400 blocks are 10.29 deck so you would have to cut if even possible to fit 8.2 302.
Its totally possible.
Cometic head gaskets solve the water flow issues. He drilled the 302 block for 1/2" head bolts that was a PITA but doable.
Intake spacers to get the manifold to fit and a little imagination for the cooling system and away to the races he went.
I know he did one engine with ported 2bbl cleveland heads and it hauled ass with the best of them.
Real Race Cars Don't Have Doors

dannobee
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:01 pm
Location:

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by dannobee » Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:59 pm

Truckedup wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:50 am
When the C engine was available in 1970, there were 2bbl and 4bbl heads with different port sizes?
Yup. And there are also open and closed chamber heads. Just to add to the confusion.

cjperformance
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 3591
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:20 am
Location: South Australia

Re: Can I use (stock) Ford 351C HEADS on my Ford 302 ('79) Block

Post by cjperformance » Sun Feb 09, 2020 7:24 pm

ProPower engines wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 12:01 pm
Steve.k wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:56 pm
The windsor heads return coolant through the intake and not the block like Cleveland. The 351m and 400 blocks are 10.29 deck so you would have to cut if even possible to fit 8.2 302.
Its totally possible.
Cometic head gaskets solve the water flow issues. He drilled the 302 block for 1/2" head bolts that was a PITA but doable.
Intake spacers to get the manifold to fit and a little imagination for the cooling system and away to the races he went.
I know he did one engine with ported 2bbl cleveland heads and it hauled ass with the best of them.
Regardless of head gaskets used you still need to block/seal the coolant to block return holes in cylinder head, and then drill the head either for coolant flow return thru the intake manifold like a W runs OR drill the front of each head for an external coolant return.
Craig.

Post Reply