Gear drive versus chain

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

trevore

Gear drive versus chain

Post by trevore »

Hi guys

Is there an advantage in running gear drives instead of a chain. Is there a point you get with spring pressure that you should change to a gear drive.

Pros and Cons

Thanks

Trev
pinkstuff

Re: Gear drive versus chain

Post by pinkstuff »

ditch the gear drives altogether.google 'harmonics' and do some reading concerning its effects on an engine. if in doubt ,go to a belt e.g a jessel setup.
POS Dakota

Post by POS Dakota »

I'm not an expert with a few hundred engines under my belt, but per what I have researched the only problems I have read about are regarding dual-idler geardrives causing breakage of the cam...but this could very well be bull. I do know for a fact many in the mopar community are using the single-idler geadrives from keith black for example with great success in expensive large cube engines.

I would think that if they were a problem we would see a lot more evidence to support how bad they are.
The only example I was able to dig up was on a cummins diesel making well over 2000 ft/lbs before the stock cast cam broke, but it may very well be another issue.

I will agree that a chain or belt is going to serve to dampen harmonics a lot better, but how detrimental these mysterious harmonics are is a whole different story....

I am using a single idler in my mopar smallblock. i guess we'll find out.

This has the potential to be an informative thread if people with more experience would chime in and give some words of wisdom. I find it an interesting subject.
vincenelson
Pro
Pro

Post by vincenelson »