Piston Scuffing on jnr Dragster

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

chris b

Piston Scuffing on jnr Dragster

Post by chris b »

Hi, I am a motocross engine builder delving into new territory putting together some jnr dragster engines. All Mcgee PM1 engines at the moment. I Have three in bits, and normally Im used to stripping motocross engines where the pistons come out looking in good shape, sometimes wearing the skirts smooth and the odd small score. But these dragster engines all seem to scuff up the skirts more than I'm used to. Built one together last week, final hone was 280 grit, with 2 thou clearance. Afther a couple of runs had the head off and already can see a few scores up the barrel.
I'm thinking this is down to the methanol washing the oil off the bores? or not enough oil splashing onto the bores? The photo is from an engine that has done most of a season. would you consider this wear to be excessive? or what to be expected with iron liners and methanol. Cylinder still measures round to under hald a thou and piston to bore clearance is still ok.

Chris
robert1
Guru
Guru

Re: Piston Scuffing on jnr Dragster

Post by robert1 »

.002 is too tight. Open it up to .0035-.004.
SupStk
Guru
Guru

Post by SupStk »

I'm not a jr dragster builder but that piston apears to be growing larger than the clearances allow. Agree with Robert try loosening it up after replacing the piston. Might be the photo but the hone job looks way too rough.
Monty Frerichs
B&M Machine
robert1
Guru
Guru

Post by robert1 »

One other thing is you have an aluminum piston rubbing aluminum at the bottom of the bore. Can't do that! In the cool bore (no sleeve) motors they have to run chromed pistons.
Alan Roehrich
Guru
Guru

Post by Alan Roehrich »