chrysler 360 / 408 combos

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Keith Morganstein
Guru
Guru

chrysler 360 / 408 combos

Post by Keith Morganstein »

When it comes to Mopar small blocks , I am not very experienced past a basic rebuild. I need some help on this. I did some internet research, but it's hard to sort that out.

I'm trying to help a customer with a chrysler 360/408 combo. The customer had a 340 that grenaded, stock rod broke in half. He has 340 heads that were ported. He took them to a head porter and the guy put them on his bench and claims they flow about as good as a stock set of edelbrock peformers. The heads may not be worth using as they are quite worn and partially damaged by the failure. Also the 340 had a big ugly dome to make compression and that's not how I like to go. I much prefer flat top pistons and an appropriately sized chamber.

The block he wants to use is a 1991 hydraulic roller block. Actually a NOS Short Block assy w/std bore. I am not sure what fits with these blocks, how good they are, what cams you can run etc... I suspect the hydraulic roller is heavy and not suited for RPM's. I see very few aftermaket hyd rollers for this engine.

The customer might be satisfied with 500hp and would love to be at 600hp.
He just trailers to the track to test and tune for fun and a low E.T.

I'm trying to figure out what it takes to get there. Everything is worth looking at now and then we'll have to see what the customer really wants to spend. I assume the stock rotator is good for only 400-450 hp with minor upgrades. Customer is considering a 408 stroker kit and there is a few options there.

There are quite a few heads from Edelbrock, Indy and Mopar. it's very unclear to me what fits with what kind of valve train, intake and header.

I've discussed the heads briefly with Mikes Porting (High VE) and it seems like a highly worked set of edelbrock performers may do.