Question for Bill Jones

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Jginger
Question for Bill Jones

Post by Jginger »

I saw in your post that you do some shot peening, was wondering if you use air blast, if so how much air pressure do you use, and what size nozzle, how do you moniter saturation, and what shot size do you use?
I have been looking for shot peening info and get shot peener mag. they make it sound quite complicated. not looking for military spec info, just some basic info so I can peen some rods and crankshafts. Thanks Jginger

[/list]
bill jones
Guru
Guru

Post by bill jones »

-It's a long story but I studied shotpeening off and on for about 3 years in the mid to late 70's because we were cracking and breaking stock rods and cranks that had seen a lot of preparation.
-GM has mentioned that they use a #230 cast steel shot and an almen arc height of .012 to .015A so I learned about what that was.
-Then I looked at hand operated single air nozzle machines and they were $6500 or so and all needed huge air compressers.
-I only had a 5hp single stage compressor that pumps about 125# so I eneded up talking to Linda Erath at ABS in CA. and she sent me the carbide nozzle and I think the hole size is .150" and I bought the #230 shot from her at something like a buck a pound and I bought something like a five gallon buckets worth, maybe $250 to $300 worth.
-I looked at the cabinets, drew MY OWN plans, had a friend cut and bend the steel then I welded the cabinet myself.
-I made my own pressure pot just from looking at photos and trying to figure out how they worked, and Linda was very helpful at answering questions.
-This was well before I had a computer so I went to the local library and dug thru Thomas Registers, got phone numbers of suppliers and I found a place in GA. I think that sold the Almen "A" strips.