Quench "flame channels" in piston vs. head quench

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

moper

Quench "flame channels" in piston vs. head quench

Post by moper »

So I've read some articles, and seen the posts here regarding cutting the hcannels radiating out from the plug area thru the head's quench area. I'm currently playing with (still in mockup and fitting actually) on a BB Mopar 4.38 bore engine, uzing quench dome pistons and opwn chamber heads. These heads are huge (now 89cc, soon to be slightly larger when they are shaped and polished) and will be milled when everything is done to get .035 quench on the piston's quend dome and the chamber roof. These pistons (KB) leave a lot of dead space behind the qunech dome, and I'm considering some osrt of channel in the dome to get flame behind it. With the bigger bore std Fel Pro gasket and the dome, theres a lot of volume back there I'd rather not give up to poor burning. This is my first time using these, might be my last depending..lol. So, are there thoughts in the positive or negative to doing something similar to the chamber mods? I would think piston rock is pretty minimal because of the tight wall clearances, which is what prompted my thought.
Twinscrew

Post by Twinscrew »

Check out http://www.somender-singh.com/ It seems that the jury is still out on this one. Lots of folks claim they have noticed improvements but no dyno quantification yet. This thread has some limited info:viewtopic.php?t=4069. These grooves were on the heads of a Mustang drag car in first place in it's class about four years ago. I was told that they only worked because of the fuel being used. I believe otherwise. You'll notice that out of all of the professional head designers and porters that post here, none are respoding to these topics. This leads me to believe there is something to it.
Twinscrew

Post by Twinscrew »