points ignition

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

ap72
Guru
Guru
points ignition

Post by ap72 »

What can be done to upgrade my points style ignition- and no I don't want to swap to a modern magnetic pick up (even though it may be smarter to).

Is there a condenser upgrade? Which is the best brand for points? This is for an old Lucas 25D4 distributor.

Also, any issues with running iridium plugs with points?
LOL, according to the post count I'm an "expert." The only thing I'm an expert at is asking questions.
turbobaldur
Pro
Pro

Re: points ignition

Post by turbobaldur »

You can use an MSD 6 series CDI box with points.
ap72
Guru
Guru

Post by ap72 »

turbobaldur wrote:You can use an MSD 6 series CDI box with points.

too modern and noticeable.

I'm really surprised nobody had tips on the best points and/or condenser options. I know there's guys with grey hair on this site that still know what points are.
LOL, according to the post count I'm an "expert." The only thing I'm an expert at is asking questions.
ingram

Post by ingram »

In the motorcycle world, Blue Streak makes quality points and condensers. I don't know if they make something that will fit your distributor.
Ingram Engineering
Cam Profile Designs
www.camprofiledesigns.com
stokerboats
Pro
Pro

Post by stokerboats »

Blue Streaks used to be good but where are they made today? I suppose if anyone sold a good point set it would be NAPA but I wouldn't even bet on them.
mag2555
Guru
Guru
Location: Heading for a bang up with Andromeda as we all are.

Post by mag2555 »

Why don't you give us some detail as to the motor and your needs / expectations as I for one have left my crystal ball home today!
You can cut a man's tongue from his mouth, but that does not mean he’s a liar, it just shows that you fear the truth he might speak about you!
Sweet P

Post by Sweet P »

Points magnetos are still very popular in drag racing and sprint cars.
Zig Magnetos 323-735-6216