Weiand MOPAR vertical cross 3x2 intake.

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

pdq67
Guru
Guru
Weiand MOPAR vertical cross 3x2 intake.

Post by pdq67 »

May not be advanced tech so please put this where it belongs, thanks.

Anybody know anything about the old Weiand MOPAR 413/426/440 engines vertical cross 3x2 intake?

PN 7252 base;
PN 7252 Gasket; and
PN 7254 Top.

Looking at it straight on, it has vertical "X" runners that come from the heads up and over to along each side of the 3x2's.

I have never seen one in person and am just wondering if this intake is any good?

A picture of it is in Weiand's 1986 catalog on page 20.

pdq67
jim_ss409

Re: Weiand MOPAR vertical cross 3x2 intake.

Post by jim_ss409 »

I think these are pictures of that style of manifold.
I saw one for sale a while back and thought about trying to adapt it to a 409 Chevy engine. (the 409's have similar sized ports and spacing)
I'm no expert but I thought it looked like a pretty good intake.

Kenova
Expert
Expert

Post by Kenova »

That intake is just screaming for a set of fuel injectors!
Would a bell-mouth entry for the runners help flow any?

Ken
Over the hill but still learning!
Retaining it is the hard part.
panic
Guru
Guru

Post by panic »

IIRC that's just the AHRA legal 3 X 2 top, there were others (and I'm sure some shade-tree stuff).
The idea is sound - a useful runner length + a plenum.
PackardV8
Guru
Guru

Post by PackardV8 »

I never, ever heard anyone say anything good about the Weiand cross 3x2 intake. It didn't make any more power than today's better 1x4s and had no street idle or low RPM manners whatsoever.

jack vines
Jack Vines
Studebaker-Packard V8 Limited
Obsolete Engineering
pdq67
Guru
Guru

Post by pdq67 »

Thanks Panic!!

That's it.

Jack,

As far as I can tell, almost all of the flat-ram and elevated x-ram intakes have to be "tweeked" before they will run as well as they can be made to run.