Points ignition? Any advantages?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

ap72
Guru
Guru
Points ignition? Any advantages?

Post by ap72 »

Is points ignition better than your typical hall sensor setup in any way?
LOL, according to the post count I'm an "expert." The only thing I'm an expert at is asking questions.
emsvitil
Pro
Pro
Re: Points ignition? Any advantages?

Post by emsvitil »

Only if there's an EMP.........
Ed
F-BIRD'88
Guru
Guru

Post by F-BIRD'88 »

You can fix points at the side of the road with your wifes finger nail file.
And re-gap them with one of her safety pins as a gauge.
peejay
Guru
Guru

Post by peejay »

Which is good, because you'll have to :)

I remember having to dick with the points every morning in order to get the car to start.

I think I looked at the spark plugs in my '02 Volvo about 30k ago...
Zmechanic
Pro
Pro

Post by Zmechanic »

I see no practical advantages over a modern solid state ignition. Barring manufacturing defects/fluke happenings, then the solid state is pretty much guaranteed to need less maintenance or attention. Versus points that pit, corrode, and need adjusting.

That being said, if you want the cool, nostalgia feel with points, then do it! :D
ap72
Guru
Guru

Post by ap72 »

Don't really need nostalgia. The points I had in my Mgb I just adjusted with a dwell meter. Much easier/simpler. I was just curious from a performance standpoint if they had any desirable benefit. Looks like I'm going solid state.

Thanks.
LOL, according to the post count I'm an "expert." The only thing I'm an expert at is asking questions.
Walter R. Malik
Guru
Guru

Post by Walter R. Malik »

ap72 wrote:Don't really need nostalgia. The points I had in my Mgb I just adjusted with a dwell meter. Much easier/simpler. I was just curious from a performance standpoint if they had any desirable benefit. Looks like I'm going solid state.

Thanks.