rod bolt torque compared to stretch

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

steve cowan
Guru
Guru

rod bolt torque compared to stretch

Post by steve cowan »

hi guys i bought a set of scat 6'' i beam rods this week they have the bushed small end and these have the 7/16 8740 arp rod bolt
i removed from packet and checked big end with dialbore guage for roundness all good
disassembled and inspected had the necessary moly lube all looks great for a budget con rod
washed and cleaned as i wanted to go through the torque stretch deal to have these rods prepped and logged ready to go when required
i am a backyard hobbiest in the shed having fun and i do not do this for a living
any how i assemble rod back together proper arp lube on threads and under head of bolt
i am looking for 0.0046'' of stretch as per arp specs and scat say they torque there rods to 64 ft/lbs
istart at 40lbs and check stretch,write everything down as i go,torque to 60lbs and i have 3'' stretch
anyway i need to go to 95lbs to get the required stretch which does not surprise me as i have been there before with other rods
anyway long story short i do 4 cycles of torque,check stretch,measure big end of rod,dissasseble rod,check rod bolt relaxed all good,after 4 checking cycles i have the max advised stretch at 65lbs,is this normal because on my rods with 2000 series bolts they need to go to 0.006'' stretch and this takes 90 lbs of tension and it does not change i am sure scat says 70lbs
my other question is are these manufactures leaving themselves open for trouble as on the first cycle i only had half the stretch required for yield at scats required tension