Weird pushrod length SBC?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

mikes
Weird pushrod length SBC?

Post by mikes »

I'm far from a professional engine builder so please forgive my ignorance. I'm building a 383 using a late model 350 factory roller, one piece rear seal block with the taller lifter bores. This is a mild street build using an Isky standard base circle hydraulic flat tappet cam and world product S/R torquer heads. When I check for pushrod length, much to my surprise I come up with 7.420?? A stock length pushrod puts the roller almost off the edge of the valve. I've used these blocks before but never had this issue? What I do know, these heads were used on a circle track engine and have a at least a .100 longer valve but I'm sure this isn't my issue as longer valves usually dictate longer pushrods? There are no signs of angle milling and I also have to use flat guide plates as the raised one are too tall for this combination. Am I over looking something here? I'm feeling pretty stupid right now on such a simple build! Thanks for the help!
Walter R. Malik
Guru
Guru

Re: Weird pushrod length SBC?

Post by Walter R. Malik »