Dual pattern cams in towing applications

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

travis
Guru
Guru
Dual pattern cams in towing applications

Post by travis »

I was reading somewhere (can’t remember exactly where) that the reason most cam companies recommend dual pattern cams in heavier towing applications is to help control heat buildup in the exhaust system. Is there any truth to this?
novadude
Guru
Guru

Re: Dual pattern cams in towing applications

Post by novadude »

travis wrote: Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:08 pm I was reading somewhere (can’t remember exactly where) that the reason most cam companies recommend dual pattern cams in heavier towing applications is to help control heat buildup in the exhaust system. Is there any truth to this?
I am no expert, but it seems to me that the earlier exhaust opening should (in theory) put MORE heat into the exhaust system. Remember, as the gasses expand and do work on the piston, temperature drops. Later EVO would also give more time to transfer heat through the cylinder walls and piston - In Theory. Real world, I doubt you'd see much difference, assuming that the valve events are close to what is needed with both the single pattern and dual pattern cams. JMO.
PRH
Guru
Guru

Post by PRH »

IH used a backwards dual pattern cam in their 304/345/392 v8’s.
260/252-adv
188/178-.050
.445/.401-lift
110.5lsa
111 int c/l
Somewhat handy with a die grinder.
CamKing
Guru
Guru

Post by CamKing »

Increasing the exhaust duration can reduce temp in the cylinder, but will also reduce pressure, and power at lower RPM's.
For a towing application, where power below peak is more important then power past peak, increasing the exhaust duration is the wrong way to go.
If the engine has to pass a smog test, where they check the NOX levels, then the longer exhaust is a good idea, because it will reduce the cylinder temps, and reduce the NOX.
Mike Jones
Jones Cam Designs

Denver, NC
jonescams@bellsouth.net