Water injection nozzles into a Victor R - best position?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

shoedoos
Expert
Expert

Water injection nozzles into a Victor R - best position?

Post by shoedoos »

I have two water injection nozzles set for installation in an Edelbrock Victor R intake.....before I drill and tap....any suggestions on placement?
Bazman
Pro
Pro
Re: Water injection nozzles into a Victor R - best position?

Post by Bazman »

Ideally in a spacer above it. You want the nozzles as far from the runners as you can get to aid even distribution and atomization. If you can't run a spacer then as high as you can get them. I'm not an expert on water injecting under carbs but would think running the spray at 90 degrees to the airflow would be better than aiming it at the intake floor where it'll pool. That's what we do on EFI - jet's are aimed 90 degrees at the flow and before throttle body for best atomization. With a carby you can't go before the carb so have to go right under it. I assume you're intending a water/meth mix?
shoedoos
Expert
Expert

Post by shoedoos »

Certainly is a weird one.......it almost seems like the carb crowd are ignored by the meth/water injection manufacturers. The supplied jets fan at 120-degrees so if you pipe them into each side of the plenum then half of the fan is going to spray up and quite possibly puddle/pool under the Dominator.

I am now thinking of drilling from underneath and placing a single jet on the floor so the plume sprays directly up and out. Obviously this is a little more work.....

Any other thoughts?
Kevin Johnson
HotPass
HotPass

Post by Kevin Johnson »

Driving Force Online: BREAKING NEWS—Ohio Governor Signs SEMA-Supported Vehicle Freedom Bill Into Law!
shoedoos
Expert
Expert

Post by shoedoos »

Looks like I am the second person to go up this track......

Racer71
Pro
Pro

Post by Racer71 »