Component Advice for a Vintage Racing Engine

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Vintagewrench
Component Advice for a Vintage Racing Engine

Post by Vintagewrench »

I'm rebuilding my own 1967 Volvo 1.8 L four for use in vintage road races and hill climbs and will be asking some of you for help and guidance along the way. My background is I’ve been an automotive machinist for over forty years, and operate my own machine shop that concentrates on rebuilding pre-war racing engines and cars.

SBC lifters are the same diameter as those used in Volvos and Isky has been supplying them with their cam kits for decades and they work well in this application.

Know a cam grinder that can grind the taper off of a cam so it can be used with roller lifters and am wondering what the center-to-center distance is for Chevy lifter bores. If it is really close to the Volvo dimension hopefully the link bars that come with the lifters can be used.

If not, if anyone knows the type of steel and heat treatment used for link bars we can machine suitable ones here in the shop.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
The Old Motor
Prewar Racing Engine Rebuilding - Reproduction Engine Blocks, Heads, Crankcases - Custom-Made Bearings - Babbitting - Blind-Hole Cylinder Boring - Line boring - Connecting Rod Boring - theoldmotor.com/?page_id=29926
Walter R. Malik
Guru
Guru

Re: Component Advice for a Vintage Racing Engine

Post by Walter R. Malik »

Vintagewrench wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2019 1:15 pm I'm rebuilding my own 1967 Volvo 1.8 L four for use in vintage road races and hill climbs and will be asking some of you for help and guidance along the way. My background is I’ve been an automotive machinist for over forty years, and operate my own machine shop that concentrates on rebuilding pre-war racing engines and cars.