We are currently running on the new domain and server: www.Speed-Talk.com

IMPORTANT: Update your bookmarks to https://www.speed-talk.com/forum/
(Right-click the URL and select "Bookmark this link")

Help needed connecting LMA-3 to LM-2

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Post Reply
Mattax
Member
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Phila. Pa
Contact:

Help needed connecting LMA-3 to LM-2

Post by Mattax » Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:41 pm

The other day I setup an LM2 with my old Aux box with plans to take it to the track.
But the two devices aren't talking.

If anyone else has done this, I'd appreciate help.
The LM2 manual doesn't cover connecting with the LMA-3. :(
The LMA-3 manual doesn't cover connecting with an LM-2. Not surprising as it didn't exist yet.
Yes. I can try asking Innovate but figure might have better help here, especially if its a simple oversight on my part.

Here's what worked and hasn't.
Connect 4.9 WBO2 sensor to LM-2, Plug LM2 into cigar lighter. O2 sensor warms up and can be calibrated. Record works.
Disconnect power.
Connect LMA3 to LM-2 using serial out to serial in. Install WBO2 into exhaust. Start engine and plug in power.
LM2 shows wideband warming up and then stalling. LMA3 never lights up.
Shut off. Disconnect everything.

Recheck LM2 with wideband sensor in free air. Works.
Take the LM2 and LMA-3 to the computer.
Connect LM2 to computer using USB. Start LM Programmer. Programmer recognizes LM2 but can't configure channels because nothing is connected.
Connect LMA3 to LM2. No change. LMA3 doesn't light up. So its not getting power either in car from 12 V or from USB.
disconnect
Connect LMA3 to LM2 first. Then connect LM2 to computer using USB. LM Programmer doesn't see connection.
Therefore it seems that connecting the LMA3 to the LM2's serial port is messing something up.

:?:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tuner
Guru
Guru
Posts: 2346
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:26 am
Location:

Re: Help needed connecting LMA-3 to LM-2

Post by Tuner » Fri Nov 29, 2019 4:50 am

To use the LMA-3 with the LM-2 they both must be powered with 12V and share a common power supply and ground. The WB controllers, LM-1, LM2, LC1, LC2, MTX-L, etc, obviously must have an adequate 12V power supply to heat the sensor. The LMA-3 and DL-32 can be powered by a 9V battery.

To connect any of the devices to the serial port of your computer, LM-1, LM-2, LMA-3, all Innovate devices, etc, etc, they must be powered with 12V or a 9V battery.

The LM-2 doesn't supply 12V power out for any devices, they all must be separately powered. If you didn't connect 12V to the LMA-3, that is the problem. If you are in the habit of using the LMA-3 with the LM-1 you probably expected the LMA-3 to get power from the LM-2 like it does from the LM-1, not going to happen.

The LM-1 will power the LMA-3, but only for use with its internal sensors. When using the LMA-3 (or DL-32) with external sensors and it is desired to power the sensors with the LMA-3's internal 5V power supply it must be powered externally through the GND and 12V connections by supplying 12V (or a 9V battery) to the green plug.

To use the LMA-3 with the LM-2 they both must be powered with 12V and share a common power supply and ground.

You need to use a terminator with the LMA-3.

You know this. You had a brain fart, check your hat, you might need to wash it.

Mattax
Member
Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Phila. Pa
Contact:

Re: Help needed connecting LMA-3 to LM-2

Post by Mattax » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:12 am

Thanks Tuner!
Makes sense.
Yes its been three years.
And it was always the LM1 with the LMA3.

When looking at the instructions that showed the MTS chain, it looked like terminator was only used on the head unit. ](*,)
With the LM1 the only time I needed the terminator was when programing the LMA3.

Tuner
Guru
Guru
Posts: 2346
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:26 am
Location:

Re: Help needed connecting LMA-3 to LM-2

Post by Tuner » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:44 am

Make double-sure the power supply polarity is connected correctly to the green plug or the smoke will escape from the LMA-3.

Post Reply