Valve springs

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

rocketracer380
Pro
Pro
Valve springs

Post by rocketracer380 »

On a race engine is backing off the springs required for longer spring life I have a 15 degree sbc 440 with about .880” lift never backed off valves broke a few springs after about two years never made a pass with this engine
engineguyBill
Guru
Guru

Re: Valve springs

Post by engineguyBill »

If the engine is not going to be run for an extended time (i.e. four months or more), I always back off the rocker arms during this time. Your springs will last much longer . . . . . .
Bill

Perfect Circle Doctor of Motors certification
SAE Member (30 years)
ASE Master Certified Engine Machinist (+ two otherASE Master Certifications)
AERA Certified Professional Engine Machinist
allencr267
Pro
Pro

Post by allencr267 »

never made a pass with this engine
What did it do, also, what was it last doing?
Sitting under 880 minus lash for a while must be much more uncomfortable then a car's full-time suspension springs.
MadBill
Guru
Guru

Post by MadBill »

I'd like to hear from anyone who removes his OHCs for the off season... :-k
Felix, qui potuit rerum cognscere causas.

Happy is he who can discover the cause of things.
Alaskaracer
Expert
Expert

Post by Alaskaracer »

I've never backed mine off and have never seen a change at all in spring life, seat pressure, or open pressure....only time I've seen a change is after running them most of the season........
Mark Goulette
Owner/Driver of the Livin' The Dream rear engine dragster
Speed kills but it's better than going slow!
http://www.livinthedreamracing.com
Authorized Amsoil Retailer
Kevin Johnson
HotPass
HotPass

Post by Kevin Johnson »

https://www.ideals.illinois.edu/bitstre ... sAllowed=y
localized stress.jpg