Ported Intake Opinions

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

the rain maker

Ported Intake Opinions

Post by the rain maker »

I purchased this Strip Dominator to settle the single plane vs dual plane debate on which would be faster on my engine combination. The single plane has been ported and looks good to me but I’m no expert. How does it look to any of you more experienced porting or engine guys? Thanks in advance.
B2C28763-A762-4859-A8E4-E55F2D1D53EB.jpeg
7621B30F-A635-4FCB-9BC4-478F08FE7AB8.jpeg
7416BDCC-B2C3-4F52-A904-49BE030EB063.jpeg
562F22AA-DDE6-49F3-AB3D-668C25F2DBA7.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
David Hammons
steve cowan
Guru
Guru

Re: Ported Intake Opinions

Post by steve cowan »

It's obvious the carb base /plenum area has had work done on it but the question I ask is what is your combination /application you will be using this manifold on??
steve c
"Pretty don't make power"
EDC
Expert
Expert

Post by EDC »

Try it and see how things go.

For what it's worth...

This is one I did for a customer...

"Quality" is like buying oats. You can pay a fair price for it and get some good quality oats,
or you can get it a hell of a lot cheaper, when it's already been through the horse.

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Ed Curtis - www.FlowTechInduction.com
PRH
Guru
Guru

Post by PRH »

If you’re going to try and gauge which is better on a particular combo...... single plane vs dual plane......... will the dual plane be ported in a similar fashion?

If not, then the test isn’t really only about single plane vs dual plane.
I mean...... unless one absolutely crushes the other one.

As for the manifold you bought...... I have no idea if will have any impact on the power..... but I’m not really a fan of how the corners of the carb mounting area are all squared up.
Somewhat handy with a die grinder.
ClassAct
Guru
Guru

Post by ClassAct »