Moroso oil accumulator/preluber questions

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Bob Hollinshead
Guru
Guru
Moroso oil accumulator/preluber questions

Post by Bob Hollinshead »

I picked up a used moroso oil accumulator-I've never used one before.... Do these have a bladder in them and how much air pressure should be in it? Can I plumb it in on the front oil port on a big block chev or is it better to use the rear port above the filter or use a filter sandwich adapter? What's the procedure for using it as a pre-luber? It has a manual 1/4 turn valve on it
Pro question poster.
zums
Guru
Guru

Re: Moroso oil accumulator/preluber questions

Post by zums »

The "Mecca", accusumps are piston style , you can pressurize them to 10lbs before you start your engine, i plumb them in the front of Bowtie SBCs with no problems, manual valves are more work, you would open the valve before you start your engine, and close them before you shut the engine down to trap the charge before next start up, invest in the electric valve and you can do it all by a switch or ign key.
Tom
tenxal
Expert
Expert

Post by tenxal »

Why not just download the instructions?
Kevin Johnson
HotPass
HotPass

Post by Kevin Johnson »

Driving Force Online: BREAKING NEWS—Ohio Governor Signs SEMA-Supported Vehicle Freedom Bill Into Law!
dannobee
Expert
Expert

Post by dannobee »

If you picked it up used, you'll need to pull it apart and clean everything, including the valve. Replacing any hoses going to it is also a good idea, since bearing trash embeds itself into the hoses.

I think there's an o-ring kit available for the piston from Moroso too.
1972ho
Guru
Guru

Post by 1972ho »

If you have the mounting bands/ clamps make sure they or mounted at the top and bottom of the cylinder and not the body it’s in the instructions.
Bob Hollinshead
Guru
Guru

This is the style I have: https://www.summitracing.com/parts/mor- ... gJn9PD_BwE