General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

frnkeore
Expert
Expert

Porting, Using a Mill

Post by frnkeore »

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at porting, other than matching ports and smoothing obstructions.

I have this old set of C6 heads that I got for free, about 10 years ago. They had screw in studs and a descent set of springs and retainers. Someone had done some grinding on the exhaust ports but not the intake. BTW, when I'm done, I won't use any of that stuff.

It will have LS, 8mm valves, cut down intakes, to 1,900 and the std 1.570 ex. Both with LS guilds installed.

So, with no money to loose, I decided I'd try my hand at re-machining the ports. What you see in the pictures, is a fixture I made to accurately hold the heads, using the guilds and the core plug holes, for height and angle plates (that's what also holds the spuds, in the core holes). BTW, those core holes are exactly the same height on both end of both heads. I think they may have been used in the tooling of the heads when they machine them at the factory. I measure those on my surface plate, as well as the guild C/C spacing. The guilds are exactly 1.82 C/C. As you can see the casting is very close, port to port, so there is almost no core shift, in these. The depth for each operation, is set the same for all cuts. I was impressed at the repeatabilty of each operation.