We are currently running on the new domain and server: www.Speed-Talk.com

IMPORTANT: Update your bookmarks to https://www.speed-talk.com/forum/
(Right-click the URL and select "Bookmark this link")

540 not showing power

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

frnkeore
Member
Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:06 am
Location: Oregon

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by frnkeore » Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:17 pm

What I should have said is average HP. If you can't pick up average HP when modifying a engine, it's very hard to go faster.

If it does, indeed have more high rpm HP but, the mid range falls off, I think that, that would account for the lower ET and slightly higher trap speed. But, not consistency.

User avatar
Stan Weiss
Vendor
Posts: 4163
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 1:31 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by Stan Weiss » Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:42 pm

Can you post the dyno sheet for the engine with the new cam?

Stan
Stan Weiss / World Wide Enterprises
Offering Performance Software Since 1987
Do you use engine simulation software that uses cylinder head flow files?
We have a package of more than 3025 DFW or FLW Files

sjre
Member
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:38 am
Location:

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by sjre » Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:47 pm

As soon as I can get more info I will post back.

mt-engines
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:35 pm
Location:

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by mt-engines » Sun Jun 28, 2020 4:01 pm

sjre wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:16 pm
Local builder refreshed 540 only change was cam. Dyno showed 740 at 6200 , 620 tq 4700. the problem is car went 9.70 at 135 last year 9.90 at 136 best this year .
This year very inconsistent all over the map.Swings as much as 5 tenths.Mph is up a little but crazy. This motor after refresh made more power. combo is 540 11.0-1 comp dart 345 no porting victor single plane comp 272-280@50 737/710 lift 5500 converter th400 4.10 gears 3200 lb car.Old cam 260-270 112 both solid rollers.
Trans and converter fresh as of last sept. Questions are
why peak at only 6200 with 345 heads and why so inconsistent ? Could the cam change affect it that much? Builder said he uses this cam on his street 540s.Could the converter have gone bad? Engine also likes less ign timing than before.60 ft still the same around 1.37
Thanks for any ideas
without seeing the dyno sheets it is just a guess. and still could be.

how big is the carb? was it going rich, lean etc.. was the timing pointer moved? did you try timing on the dyno?

steve cowan
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:22 am
Location: brisbane AUSTRALIA

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by steve cowan » Sun Jun 28, 2020 4:15 pm

At that cubes it shows 1.15ft/lbs per cube,
1.37hp/cube
It picked up 1-2mph so in theory it made a bit more power,a cam change really does not mean much unless original cam was way wrong but I doubt it was.
I have run 134 mph @3150 pounds with less cubes,comp,and cam.
On the calculator the 540 shows 640-650 hp.
steve c

skinny z
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Canada

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by skinny z » Sun Jun 28, 2020 4:35 pm

skinny z wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:54 am
sjre wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:16 pm
New cam. 272-280@50 737/710. Old cam 260-270 112
Can you provide full specs for both cams?

Can you post the dyno graph?
sjre wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:16 pm
This year very inconsistent all over the map.
In addition to the above (and further subsequent requests for dyno graphs) can you explain what the above quote entails? All over the map could mean a lot of things.

sjre
Member
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:38 am
Location:

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by sjre » Sun Jun 28, 2020 5:32 pm

all over the map means 129 to 136 mph et from 9.90 to 10.57

bob460
Member
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:19 am
Location:

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by bob460 » Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:58 pm

Should be making peak power near 7000 rpm.........not 6200rpm.

Should be making 800+ hp and 700+ tq something is not right. #-o

Monza355
Pro
Pro
Posts: 279
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:06 pm
Location:

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by Monza355 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:24 am

I ran a similar cam as the one you swapped out in a 9.2:1 compression 565 bbc engine with a 325cc Dart Pro1 heads. Super victor intake and a older mode of the 9375 1050 cfm Dominator. The engine ran a 9” 4200-4500 stall converter and liked begin shifted at 6400-6600 rpm’s

It ran a 9.70’s at 138.5 mph in a 3550 lbs Firebird. It ran decent for what it was and a fantastic street engine.

Your 60ft’s are decent. Does the car run smooth down the track or does it seem to lay over at some point ? What does it run in the 1/8 mile ? And what brand and size converter do you run ?

Orr89rocz
HotPass
HotPass
Posts: 1937
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:25 pm
Location:

Re: 540 not showing power

Post by Orr89rocz » Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:02 pm

Fuel problem? Ignition? If its not repeating and going from 129 to 136 mph It sounds like something is killing power from hit to hit. Bad wires, grounds, plugs? Carb?

Post Reply