fresh 5.0 build having problems

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

dynoflo

fresh 5.0 build having problems

Post by dynoflo »

fellow finally got his enforcer headed 5.0 in car and running. called me and said running poorly. took fuel pressure gauge and timing light and everything checked out OK. it has no low speed zip at all. has a stumble and go pedal is not very responsive. it is factory fuel injected with 24 injectors and trick flow stage 1 cam and is 10 to 1 compression. turned idle up to 900 and idles like a 222 @ .050. he is bringing to shop tomorrow for further testing. I am not experienced with computer controlled 5.0 fords. I have built several and they all ran fine with factory tune..I didnt take vacumn gauge so that has to be checked also. Anybody have ideas to help me out?
dynoflo

Re: fresh 5.0 build having problems

Post by dynoflo »

problem solved. low fuel pressure.
MadBill
Guru
Guru

Post by MadBill »

Always nice when a poster "closes the loop" on a problem!
Felix, qui potuit rerum cognscere causas.

Happy is he who can discover the cause of things.
dynoflo

Post by dynoflo »

took the 5.0 for a ride today. Had to put rear wheel bearings in it, boy were they bad. Set timing at 10 and fuel pressure to 30. That motor is pretty impressive. That thing will shit and git right along. He made a dyno appointment for tuning for oct 10th. $150 an hour for tuning. Tuner said it should take no more than 2 hours. This should be a good test for the enforcer heads. Will post when dyno is done.
dynoflo

Post by dynoflo »