Teflon Pin Buttons?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

donforeman

Teflon Pin Buttons?

Post by donforeman »

I have a long abandoned project I started digging at. I did not build the car or the engine. Both had trouble and most got tossed in the trash. So here is this question. The pistons are fairly low use. The Teflon buttons are what is bothering me. They are two pieces, an aluminum spacer with the Teflon part on top. There was some very big mistakes in the engine assembly when I got it so I am questioning everything. Crazy stuff like hardware store all thread for head studs and one piston bore was honed oversize but the piston was left loose. I tossed most of it in the trash can. If this is an OK setup I do not mind using it as is. I have zero experience with this type of pin retainer though. Should I make new one piece buttons for the pins? I see where people make them from one piece Teflon and some make the whole button out of aluminum. Are the buttons supposed to ride against the bore lightly? These look short of that by a bit. The engine is a 1.2L import used for autocross and vintage track days.
hoodeng
HotPass
HotPass

Re: Teflon Pin Buttons?

Post by hoodeng »

Make new buttons one piece with a section that light presses [slide fit] into the gudgeon pin. Teflon or aluminium makes no difference. Pin OAL with buttons -.005"-.010" of bore diameter.

The alloy inserts look if they have been rebated to accommodate piston circlips, is this engine running clips as well? is there a history of not being able to trust retainers?

cheers.
donforeman

Post by donforeman »

Thank you very much for the information, that helps a lot. No circlips, I was hoping the pistons had the grooves for them and I would just skip this stuff all together. They are Venolia pistons and the car came with two sets of them, one set used for two races and one set new, so I plan on getting them to work if I can.
Momus
Pro
Pro

Post by Momus »