Header design help request, mid-engine LT1 Corvair

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

angrycorvair

Header design help request, mid-engine LT1 Corvair

Post by angrycorvair »

I'm new to this forum, and boy am i glad to have found this place. I've been around cars all my life, mostly indy repair shop and DIY stuff with my Dad, until Formula SAE in college (BSME 1991), and I've been a brake engineer in Detroit since 1993. I'm building a car for the Grassroots Motorsports Magazine $2000 Challenge, and I have the opportunity to build a proper set of headers for my car. it's a 1965 Corvair with a 1994 LT1 where the back seat used to be. the LT1 is fitted with an LT4 Hot Cam Kit including the 1.6 roller rockers, mated to an Audi 01X 6-speed manual transaxle. This is my fifth GRM Challenge build over the years, and the second mid-engine Corvair. The Challenge consists of 1/4-mile drags (best time slip, not elimination), autocross, and "concours" where the story behind the build is almost as important as the build itself.

i have plenty of room to package tubes and collectors, and i will use this car as a sunny-day commuter as well so it will have a full, albeit short, exhaust system with C7 Z06 mufflers exiting at the rear bumper. Mufflers and pipes were selected because they were super-cheap on craigslist. I've never built headers before, but i'm looking forward to giving it a try. Per the Challenge budget rules, my labor is free and I only have to hit my budget for the materials that are actually on the car at the event. i have a set of "street stock" 1.5" and a set of "twin turbo" 1.625" headers to chop up for parts, and I can add bends and straights as needed.

Advertised Lift 0.525" both I and E
Advertised Duration 279 I / 288 E
EVO 79 BBDC
LSA 112
Standard SBC firing order 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2