Future of head porting

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

998gp
Future of head porting

Post by 998gp »

Hi I’m new the forum....I worked in the automotive industry (production and racing) and I’m curious what some of the guys on this forum think about the future of head porting.

The reason why I ask is because I noticed at most events/conferences etc. the majority of the head porting people are older and I assume there are some younger guys into it but I’m wondering is the knowledge being passed on? Are newer people coming into the industry? In what direction do you think the industry is going?

Just curious what you guys think.

Thanks

P
rebelrouser
Guru
Guru
Re: Future of head porting

Post by rebelrouser »

I think for people to make money at it is will take marketing. Everybody seems to be stuck on CNC porting, and nothing wrong with the process, but whose work will they tell the CNC machine to copy?
And not all CNC programs are optimized as well.
Had a guy that I freshened his engine, had a set of INDY SR BBM heads that had been CNC ported, he was not happy with the way it ran last season. So I cleaned up the heads and put them on the bench, cam was .700 lift on the intake. At .600 lift they started losing flow at 28 inches, cranked up the bench to 35 inches they really started losing flow. When they were CNC ported close to the short side you could see and feel a slight ridge where I guess the cutter could not reach. Checked them with a velocity probe and they were around 400 fps at 28 inches. did just a little work removing the ridge, lowered the floor just a little and widened the edges of the port at the short side, got the velocity down, they stopped backing up and when we dynoed the engine, it made 50 horse more than before. Kind of surprised me, because the flow did not go up that much, it just made the port quieter.