83' C30 6.2L diesel

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

agertz1
83' C30 6.2L diesel

Post by agertz1 »

I'm a newbie to diesels, so other than piston speed, without air flow control on intake side, how to build port velocity ? Seems like it should matter ?
Thanks, Art.
HDBD
Expert
Expert

Re: 83' C30 6.2L diesel

Post by HDBD »

A turbo will do that. The NA 6.2 is an anchor. Lots of them have been pulled and replaced with gas motors
Racer71
Pro
Pro

Post by Racer71 »

Unshrouding the valve reliefs in the head help especially on the 4v diesels. I haven’t worked on one of those 6.2 in so long. Don’t remember the head layout but a bit of common sense should go along way with helping things get better. I don’t know that those engines are capable of making much power.
ProPower engines
Guru
Guru

Post by ProPower engines »

agertz1 wrote: Wed May 26, 2021 12:11 pm I'm a newbie to diesels, so other than piston speed, without air flow control on intake side, how to build port velocity ? Seems like it should matter ?
Thanks, Art.
The 1st question is what type of build are you doing?? Stock ?/ HP??
How much boost do you plan to run??
The same things apply to NA engines as boosted just with a boosted application the air is forced through the ports so any improvement helps fill the holes faster.

The valve job and guide work is the place where you will see the most improvement just like a gas engine.
Too much guide clearance will allow the valve to not seal quickly thus letting cyl. pressure escape reducing power.
Since both valve and seat angles are 45 degrees it will make it easier to do a good valve seat.
Real Race Cars Don't Have Doors
agertz1

Post by agertz1 »