If you’re familiar with portable rigid hones (ie. Sunnen AN or Lisle15000) I could use some help please.

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Crazy Dirt

If you’re familiar with portable rigid hones (ie. Sunnen AN or Lisle15000) I could use some help please.

Post by Crazy Dirt »

Hi guys,

My background is that of a tech, not a machinist. I’m familiar with working with cylinder surface finishes, just haven’t been the one actually doing the honing (other than minor surface conditioning). I own bore gauges, a profilometer, mics, etc. I’m working with a rigid hone made by Lisle, model 15000, but it is similar to the Sunnen AN and various other brands. This is my first project with a rigid hone, it is on my own engine for a project truck of mine, which is why I’m messing around with doing my own honing and not sending it out. Mainly because I want to learn how to do it.

I have a spare block identical to my good block to practice on. This hone was supposedly new straight from rock auto. When I got it the threads on the yoke for the drill extension were buggered up. The hone has a wobble to it and I’m not sure if it’s a reflection of an out of round bore (the cylinder the video was shot with is 0.0013” (13 tenths) out of round. Or, if this hone has a problem. I’m using an 80 grit stone set to start off with. So far, I’ve honed 20 thou worth of material with this stone set in the first couple of cylinders but have been fighting bore geometry the whole time. The stones should at least be well broken in. I’m wondering, is this normal behavior for an out of round bore or did someone use this hone before me, catch a web or something and bugger it up and then returned it to rock auto from which I purchased it?

Here is a link to a short video of the hone running at slow speed to show the wobble.
https://vimeo.com/587531353
gridslammer
Re: If you’re familiar with portable rigid hones (ie. Sunnen AN or Lisle15000) I could use some help please.