Link Bar Lifter Failure

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

skinny z
HotPass
HotPass

Link Bar Lifter Failure

Post by skinny z »

I've finally got back to this engine and have started the teardown and post-mortem.
The history has been laid out here but the short story is a cam and head swap about 8000 miles ago (used cam and lifters and fresh heads). All was good until a misfire developed at high RPM. It was downhill from there.

This is what was under the intake.

IMG_20211003_131423043.jpg

I've personally never seen this before (Then again I'm just a hobbyist).
Those are COMPs short travel lifters. Purchased new in 2012. About 35 000 miles old.

It appears that other than the obvious and the cam itself, that nothing else has been caught up in this. Pushrods are straight. Valve tips look new. No broken springs (that I can see).
Since the time I reassembled the engine for a cam swap (used COMP XR288 as well as the used lifters) in 2016 it's seen about 8000 miles. Most of which have been in "limp" mode.

The link bar is nowhere to be seen...

EDIT: A ST search shows this isn't necessarily unique.
My best guess (at this point) is that I lost the thrust button on the cam and the excessive endplay let the roller drop off the lobe. The rest is stress.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Kevin
BillK
Guru
Guru

Re: Link Bar Lifter Failure

Post by BillK »

skinny z wrote: Mon Oct 04, 2021 11:57 am My best guess (at this point) is that I lost the thrust button on the cam and the excessive end play let the roller drop off the lobe. The rest is stress.
I would think that if that happened it would have affected all of them ? If anything it would have allowed the lifter to hit the next lobe. not "drop down" Either way I suppose the end result is going to be ugly :( :(
Bill Koustenis
Advanced Automotive Machine
Waldorf Md

www.enginerepairshop.com
skinny z
HotPass
HotPass

Post by skinny z »