Flathead Transition Area - What & where is it?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

wkuran

Flathead Transition Area - What & where is it?

Post by wkuran »

Although I have had my flathead for many years, I am new to many of the terms associated with modifying engines. One term in particular is the transition area

The engine, a Willys Super Hurricane, is in a 1960 Utility Wagon. It runs well but this past year I have had to do some cylinder head work and that is when I started hearing about the transition area. After ready through many posts on this forum, I have an idea as to what it means but still can’t quite locate it for sure.

I assume that since it is called the transition area, it is somewhere between the valves and the cylinder bore but what does it transition?

I may be too literal but would like to be able to see the transition area. Where is it? Is it on the block deck, on the cylinder head, on both or somewhere in between.\?

If I had a photo of the block deck and cylinder head would it be possible to use a marking pen to outline the transition area?

If I can find the transition area I should be able to measure it. How big should it be and why? What shape should it be and why? How do I measure te size?
mag2555
Guru
Guru
Location: Heading for a bang up with Andromeda as we all are.

Re: Flathead Transition Area - What & where is it?

Post by mag2555 »

Could you post up some specific examples of how the word transition was used in a sentence or two that you have read?
You can cut a man's tongue from his mouth, but that does not mean he’s a liar, it just shows that you fear the truth he might speak about you!
wkuran

Post by wkuran »

mag2555 wrote: Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:46 am Could you post up some specific examples of how the word transition was used in a sentence or two that you have read?
Sure . . .