Question About Sleeving A Block

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

davidbraley
HotPass
HotPass

Question About Sleeving A Block

Post by davidbraley »

I am new to the engine machining world. But, I do come to the table as a 45+ year precision machinist/toolmaker. My interest in rebuilding engines is for nothing more than my own personal enjoyment.

I've been searching this amazing resource, and didn't find a clear answer to my question.

Is it a crazy idea to use a torque plate when boring a cylinder for a new sleeve? The torque plate would remain in place when pressing the sleeve into the block. It's my understanding most engine machinists do not do this.

If it helps, the block in question is a 1965 General Motors 292 inline 6 cylinder. I need to install 6 sleeves to save the block. This engine will be restored to it's original stock specs. Still, I would like to use better, more modern materials and parts, and do a better job at the machining and attention to detail compared to the original factory work. I think you call this "Blue Printing" the engine.

This is what I have gathered and learned from reading here on the Speed-Talk forum:

When sleeving all cylinders in a block, it's best to use the thinner 1/16" wall iron sleeves, keep the interference press fit to between 0.0005" and 0.001" (this helps with keeping block distortion to a minimum), and use an anarobic sleeve retainer like Loctite 640. The Loctite 640 is a slow dry, high shear strength, high temperature anaerobic adhesive.

I plan to align hone the crankshaft mains when finished with installing the sleeves.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

David
I'm a machinist... because engineers need heroes too.
lefty o
Guru
Guru
Re: Question About Sleeving A Block

Post by lefty o »