big block mopar oil pump

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

rebelrouser
Guru
Guru
big block mopar oil pump

Post by rebelrouser »

I am doing a 383 and a 440 mild performance engine for a cuda and a super bee. Got most of my parts in good time, but the oil pumps never showed up. For many years I always installed a stock high-volume pump, the ones with taller gears. Well, as normal now, none are available anywhere. Lots of standard volume pumps, and they tell me Melling is basically the only company making them. And they just are not making the high-volume version. The salesman being a good salesman I guess tells me high volume mopar pumps just run the stock pans dry anyway. Well, I have been messing with mopars for let's see since 1974, and I just don't think that is true. Big block mopars have a lot of drain back and I have lost count of the big blocks I have built, never blew one up with a high-volume pump. Only blew up two and they both broke rods.
What is your guy's experience?
And talking about just mild engines, my race car for example has a milidon external dual pickup with a 10 quart pan
ProPower engines
Guru
Guru

Re: big block mopar oil pump

Post by ProPower engines »