emulsion tuning for dual quads? experts needed

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

TheGreatPumpkin
emulsion tuning for dual quads? experts needed

Post by TheGreatPumpkin »

Hi all - I'm a novice carb tuner with an engineering background. I try to read (and understand) as much as possible of what's talked about with regards to emulsion tuning. I'm here to learn stuff and get my car sorted out, and I need some help. Some others on this board have already been very helpful to me (FBIRD88 has been great!), and I think I'm close to a good tune. However, I'm currently having "rich everywhere" issues after relocating the IFRs to the low position and experimenting with emulsion tuning on this mild but fun combo. I have a wideband AFR gauge and vacuum gauge in the car.

1970 Torino, 3900lbs, Toploader, 3.50:1 rear gear
1973 466, 9:1, mild/medium ported D3VE heads
Lunati Voodoo 268/276 hyd flat tappet (227/233@50, .552/.564) (yes, I know this is too much cam for the compression ratio)
Blue Thunder CJ dual quad intake with two 600 cfm Holleys (1850C), which have QF metering blocks and plates. Setup 1:1 with each other with homemade (but I think very nice) adjustable linkage. I am open to a progressive and/or backwards setup but I'm afraid of fuel distribution issues.
FPA headers, 3 inch exhaust with X-pipe
Everything else is pretty basic but the car has coilovers, Cal-Tracs, panhard bar, handles pretty nice, power steer, manual brake, brand new wiring harness, etc. Fun to drive regardless of the tuning troubles.

Here's the tune on the carbs, both are identical:
Idles 800rpm with about 16inhg, IMS ~3/4 out
TB P: 0.016 of slot
TB S: minimum without binding
IFR P: 0.021
IFR S: 0.025
IAB P: 0.068
IAB S: 0.018
Jet P: #65
Jet S: #70
PVCR: 0.035
MAB P: 0.024
MAB S: 0.023
Emulsion: 31/25/25/25
PV: 10.5
Nozzle: 0.025
Cam: Orange #1
Spring: Purple
Total Timing: 36 by 2800rpm (18 initial, 18 mechanical, 15 vacuum at 15inhg)
Bushing: Black