AFR Datalog Plots?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Black_Sunshine

AFR Datalog Plots?

Post by Black_Sunshine »

I'm new to using a datalogger for carb tuning and would like to see what is considered an acceptable/good/proper, even bad AFR vs RPM vs MAP plot for a wide open throttle run (1/4 mile pass), cruise on idle circuit, and cruise beyond idle circuit.

I have an innovative wideband setup and have added MAP and RPM via their SSI Four+ logger.

Please post up examples. Thanks!
rgalajda
Pro
Pro

Re: AFR Datalog Plots?

Post by rgalajda »

What fuel, carb, and engine?
rgalajda
Pro
Pro

Post by rgalajda »

For typical non oxygenated 14.6 to 14.8:1 stoichiometric fuel , naturally aspirated engine.

Rich at idle 12.5 to 14:1 , lean at cruise 14.5 to 16:1 ,( leanest mixture which the engine will tolerate without missing or surging in level road cruise and moderate to intermediate acceleration). Leaner or leanest at part throttle acceleration until the power valve opens and rich at WOT , 12.5 to 13.4:1 AFR.

Idle AFR will be dependant on camshaft specs. More duration equals less vacuum requires richer idle.

Minimum fuel consumption at idle usually requires the vacuum advance adding about 20 degrees more timing . ( this was done away with in light of emissions )

Lean cruise of say 60 mph will be dependant on vacuum advance adding timing to as far advanced as 45 to 55 degrees.
A typical performance Holley carb should be able to achieve 15:1 AFR at cruise.
A Quadrajet or Cater carb can acheive 16:1 AFR at cruise.
rebelrouser
Guru
Guru

Post by rebelrouser »