Removing common wall between intake runners

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

redc4
Removing common wall between intake runners

Post by redc4 »

I have read in the past about removing a portion of the common wall between intake ports on heads like a small block chevy, etc. From what I gather, the main advantage is to gain cross section area. Are there any other advantages/disadvantages to doing this on a head with limited cross section area?
bill jones
Guru
Guru

Post by bill jones »

-I want to hear the answers to this one myself.
LilRacr

Post by LilRacr »

I am also very curious about this one.

I am a novice compared to most of you guys, but I would like to think futher into this about making the runners of the head one also, and splitting the ports at the bolt of the SBC?

The pushrod restriction would definatly be removed! :lol:
-Bobby-

Post by Guest »

Not sure if this helps but anyway, the early Australian Holden straight six head shared the same intake runner in pairs, the later model straight six head didn't, the early straight six head actually flowed better with all the usual porting techniques

with the early head it had a pillar at the intake entrance which the head bolt was located, after the pillar it opened into a common area for both intake valves to share, modification technique involved cutting this pillar away & installing a sleeve for the bolt to run through to increase flow

thought I would mention this because it seems to be a similar theory to the topic
redc4
Post by redc4 »

Timewarden, this is exactly the type of head I am looking at. It is off a chevy inline 6.
redc4
Post by redc4 »

Timewarden, this is exactly the type of head I am looking at. It is off a chevy inline 6.
Dave Koehler
Vendor

Post by Dave Koehler »