Need Some Help with Cam Specs for a Weber Carb’d 289 Max Effort Type Deal…

Engine tech, for those engines, products, and technologies of yesteryear.

Moderator: Team

crazy_caseys_customs

Need Some Help with Cam Specs for a Weber Carb’d 289 Max Effort Type Deal…

Post by crazy_caseys_customs »

Hello,

Once again I have found more good “general” information on Speed Talk than on any of the other forums that are more tailored to a Small Block Ford running a nostalgia reproduction of the original Shelby Cobra Weber induction package. I’m still a bit of a novice; this is only going to be my fourth engine build, but I kind of want to challenge myself this time.

Now that Crane is basically gone, I’m not sure where to turn for my camshaft selection. I reached out to Howard’s, and the tech that responded said he didn’t know anything about Weber’s. I was leaning towards Howard’s because they at least sell decent lifters with their camshafts (Morel and Gaterman). After my last experience with Comp, I’m never going back.

Anyway, I know that Weber’s aren’t as sensitive to overlap as the people who sell them suggest (Jim Inglese spec’d a cam for me that was 220°@ 0.050” w/ 0.550” lift on a 115° LSA). And I have read several posts here that would suggest that running a crazy wide LSA isn’t a magic bullet, but a sort of band-aid approach to ease tuning. BUT, a lot of those posts also mentioned tuning the runner length to deal with excessive overlap, and I am confined to the Shelby intake’s VERY short runner length (about 1-1/2”), so overlap (reversion and stand-off) might actually be an issue for this particular combo.

Here’s where I’m at: