Anything to do with the electric or hybrid world

Moderator: Team

pdq67
Guru
Guru
Re: The Real! MUSTANG MACH E is here

Post by pdq67 »

I haven't looked but do know about it!

So just how much is this electric pony gonna cost me??

As well as, when can I pick it up at my Dealer?

pdq67
Belgian1979
Guru
Guru

Post by Belgian1979 »

Like with all cars hp says nothing. It's a mathematical equasion that is based on torque. The more torque at low rpm the higher the calculated hp will be. Since all electric motors have a lot of hp at very low rpm, evidently the amount of HP is going to be high.

I do not debating that an electric motor is better in terms of torque produced at low rpm (I'm an electrical engineer by training) but they consume huge amounts of energy to do so. And as always the problems remains where to get the energy from. As most have to use huge batteries that weigh a lot the comparison is not clear cut.
gruntguru
Guru
Guru

Post by gruntguru »

Belgian1979 wrote: Mon Oct 19, 2020 5:04 amI do not debating that an electric motor is better in terms of torque produced at low rpm (I'm an electrical engineer by training) but they consume huge amounts of energy to do so.
You mean an electrician right?

An "engineer" (with a "degree") would recognise this is nonsense.
Belgian1979
Guru
Guru

Re: The Real! MUSTANG hwMACH E is here

Post by Belgian1979 »

You can assume anything you want. I don't care.

Are you going to debate that an electric motor (any type) when being in a high torque, low speed situation is going to draw a lot of amps ? Are you going to debate that drawing that much amps means a lot of power is consumed, power that needs to come from a lot of batteries?
Are you saying that the vehicle, which is heavier due to the battery weight is going to consume less power to accelerate than an equal vehicle equiped with a combustion engine that weighs less?