General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

MELWAY
Guru
Guru

Sbc Dart SHP rear main leaks

Post by MELWAY »

What rear main seals is everyone using and what is your install procedure

I have been building sbc for over 20 years and never has problems no matter what seals I ran

Now days I pretty much only build dart block engines and mostly shp

Last few years I have 1 out of 2 leak on dyno
I have tried ever seal I can get my hands on
The felpro blue 2900 has been the most successful the last 12 months. But I have an engine this week that pisses oil out when hot. First tried mahle grey and now fel pro blue. Both leak baddd driving me crazy
3370lb Sedan 9.89@136MPH 358chevN/A
KnightEngines
Guru
Guru

Re: Sbc Dart SHP rear main leaks

Post by KnightEngines »

Brown felpro high vac seals are good.
But yeah, I've had a couple of weeping chev seals lately, found one had a distorted lip at the joint.
jdperform
Pro
Pro

Post by jdperform »

We take a piece of rubber bout 1/8 thick x 1” x 4” with bout .1/8 hole in middle then fold it around the oil drainback slot on rear cap. Use a rubber tip blow gun and air up the drainback slot and check the seal with soap bubbles. Easier with 2 people but can be done by yourself. We check as soon as we install rear cap and even before the other 4 caps. Seems crude but this procedure has saved us many many hours of removing pan etc.
Tartilla

Post by Tartilla »

If this is a more recent factor, is there something wrong with the SHP block & rear main cap?

I don't really like the idea of a 50% chance of leaking oil, even when installed correctly.
MELWAY
Guru
Guru

Post by MELWAY »

Tartilla wrote: Wed Oct 19, 2022 8:57 pm If this is a more recent factor, is there something wrong with the SHP block & rear main cap?

I don't really like the idea of a 50% chance of leaking oil, even when installed correctly.