Quench Question

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

perfconn
Pro
Pro
Quench Question

Post by perfconn »

How much piston to head clearance can you get by with before you risk detonation ?
BLSTIC
Expert
Expert

Re: Quench Question

Post by BLSTIC »

Depends on the combustion chamber design and how much it relies on quench/squish for mixture motion. The most detonation resistant engine I know of doesn't even have quench, but it's a 4v engine with a ton of tumble even compared to other 4v heads (and other tricks), so it has more mixture motion than any inline valve engine is going to get.

I'm not an expert on the subject so I don't have much constructive to add apart from that, but those who are will likely need to know what engine/head you're asking about.
Last edited by BLSTIC on Thu Mar 09, 2023 3:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Procharged 434
Pro
Pro

Post by Procharged 434 »

I am not sure on Small/Big Block Chevy or Ford, but on a traditional Pontiac engine and chamber design, the highest risk for detonation seems to be in the .060"-.095" window ... I prefer Quench Distance to be in the .034"-.039" area for a high compression, pump gas street engine(block zero deck, or piston .005" above deck, combined with a .039" head gasket.
perfconn
Pro
Pro

Post by perfconn »

SB2.2 head. .043 in hole & .051 gasket = .094 quench
RDY4WAR
Expert
Expert

Post by RDY4WAR »

My rule for safe quench distance is .010-.015" per 1" bore diameter. So a 4.00" bore will be safe with .040-.060" piston to head clearance. Wider than that, you start risking detonation from insufficient turbulence. You can go narrower but then have to consider factors like piston to wall clearance (rock), piston weight and speed, stroke, quench area in the heads, and so on, in order to remain safe.

I would put the thinnest gasket possible on that SB2.2
perfconn
Pro
Pro

Post by perfconn »

Can't.Already at 14.3 compression
mt-engines
Expert
Expert

Post by mt-engines »